Free AI scribe with a BAA
Facts checked on 15 October 2026.
MentalNote is a free AI scribe with a BAA: the free plan gives you 5 scribe sessions a month with no time limit and no credit card, and MentalNote is HIPAA-compliant, with a BAA included on every plan, the free plan too. It drafts therapy notes and Medical SOAP notes from a recorded session for you to review.
Many AI scribes call themselves free, but many of those offers are trials that end after 7 to 30 days. If you want to keep a free scribe running with the BAA in place, you need a free plan that does not expire and that the BAA clearly covers. That is what MentalNote's free plan is.
The samples need no signup. 5 free scribe sessions a month. No credit card. BAA on every plan, the free plan too.
The short answer
- Free forever, not a trial. 5 scribe sessions a month, no time limit, no credit card.
- BAA on every plan, the free plan too. MentalNote is HIPAA-compliant. You accept the BAA in the app before your first session.
- Therapy and medical. Therapy formats such as SOAP, DAP, BIRP and GIRP, and a general Medical SOAP format for medical visits.
- You review every draft. The app instructs the AI to mark missing information as not documented rather than fill gaps with typical content.
- Need more? Premium is $99 a month or $990 a year for unlimited note generation.
Free plan or free trial: why it matters for the BAA
A BAA (Business Associate Agreement) is the contract HIPAA expects between you and a vendor that handles your patients' protected health information. With an AI scribe, you want the BAA in place before you record a real session.
Many self-serve AI scribes now include a BAA when you sign up, so their free trials are covered too. The difference comes when the trial ends. When a trial ends, continued use depends on the vendor: some require payment, while others offer a continuing free plan with different limits. A free plan that does not expire lets you keep using the scribe at no cost, and MentalNote states plainly that its BAA covers that free plan.
How free options compare
From each vendor's own public pages, checked on 15 October 2026. Plans and terms change, so check the vendor's page before you decide.
| AI scribe | Free option | What its pages say about a BAA |
|---|---|---|
| MentalNote | Free plan, no time limit: 5 scribe sessions a month, no credit card. | BAA included on every plan, the free plan too. Accepted in the app before your first session. |
| Heidi | A free plan its help center calls "Free Forever". | Its Terms of Use (section 5.3) say accepting them includes execution of the BAA. Its pricing page does not mention a BAA. The Terms also say US free plans may show sponsored content and that Heidi may create de-identified information from free-plan content to improve its models (sections 4.2 and 4.3). |
| Upheal | Free plan with "no time limit". | Its help center says you agree to the BAA when you sign up. Its free-plan page says the free plan is HIPAA compliant but does not mention a BAA. |
| Freed | 7-day free trial, no credit card. Starter from $39 a month. | Its help center says you accept the BAA as part of its terms when you sign up, so the trial is covered. |
| Twofold | 7 days free, no card, then $19 for the first month. | Its pricing page says "BAA on every plan". |
| Mentalyc | 14-day free trial. | Its security page says the BAA is created at signup and covers every account, including the 14-day free trial. |
| Supanote | 14-day free trial for first-time users. | Its pricing page lists a BAA under paid plans and does not state trial coverage. Its own BAA guide says every account includes a BAA during onboarding. Confirm trial coverage with Supanote. |
Sources, checked 15 October 2026: Heidi pricing, help center and Terms of Use; Upheal free plan and BAA article; Freed pricing and BAA article; Twofold pricing; Mentalyc pricing and security; Supanote pricing and BAA guide. For more detail, see MentalNote vs Heidi, vs Upheal and vs Freed.
What the free plan includes
| Therapy sessions | Medical visits | |
|---|---|---|
| Note formats | Therapy formats such as SOAP, DAP, BIRP and GIRP | Medical SOAP: Chief Complaint, History of Present Illness, Review of Systems, Objective, Assessment and Plan |
| Where | Web app at app.mentalnote.ai | Web app at app.mentalnote.ai only |
| Free allowance | 5 scribe sessions a month, no time limit, no credit card | |
| BAA | Included, the free plan too. Accepted in the app before your first session. | |
| Try first | Therapy sample, no signup | Medical sample, no signup |
Who it is for
Solo clinicians and small practices that want to start today without a sales call, a trial clock or an IT project.
- Mental health: psychologists, social workers (LCSW), marriage and family therapists, counselors, and psychiatrists and PMHNPs.
- Medical: primary care, nurse practitioners, physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech-language pathologists, chiropractors and dietitians.
How it works
- Create a free account and accept the BAA in the app before your first session.
- Confirm you have your client's or patient's consent. The web app asks you to confirm it before every recording.
- Record in the browser, in the room or on a telehealth call in another tab.
- Choose the note format and get the draft when the session ends.
- Review and edit every line, then copy or export it into your EHR.
What to check in any free AI scribe
- Does the free option expire? Look for "no time limit" or "free forever", not a number of days.
- Is the BAA in place before you record? Check how you accept it and whether it covers the plan you are on.
- What happens to your data on the free plan? Read the terms for ads, sponsored content and model training.
- Does it fit your notes? Check the formats, and whether it adds findings, numbers or codes you did not state.
What it costs
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0, no time limit | 5 web-app scribe sessions a month. No credit card. BAA included. |
| Premium | $99 a month, or $990 a year ($82.50 a month) | Unlimited note generation, browser app and Word add-in. BAA included. |
| Practice Pilot | Apply | A guided evaluation for practices. Apply for the Practice Pilot. |
MentalNote is HIPAA-compliant, with a BAA included on every plan, the free plan too. See HIPAA and security for details.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a free AI scribe with a BAA?
Yes. MentalNote has a free plan with 5 scribe sessions a month, no time limit and no credit card. MentalNote is HIPAA-compliant, with a BAA included on every plan, the free plan too. You accept the BAA in the app before your first session.
Is MentalNote a free HIPAA-compliant AI scribe?
MentalNote is HIPAA-compliant, with a BAA included on every plan, the free plan too. The free plan does not expire. Premium is $99 a month or $990 a year for unlimited note generation.
Is there a free AI medical scribe?
Yes. On the free plan you can record a medical visit in the web app at app.mentalnote.ai and choose the Medical SOAP format: Chief Complaint, History of Present Illness, Review of Systems, Objective, Assessment and Plan. It is one general medical format, not a set of specialty templates.
What is the difference between a free trial and a free plan?
A free trial offers access for a limited period, often 7 to 30 days. Afterward, some vendors require payment; others let you continue on a free plan with different limits. A free plan has no scheduled end date. Many AI scribes include a BAA at signup that also covers the trial. MentalNote's free plan includes 5 scribe sessions a month with no time limit, and its BAA covers that plan.
Who can use the free plan?
Therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, LMFTs and psychiatric clinicians, and medical clinicians such as primary care, nurse practitioners, physical, occupational and speech therapists, chiropractors and dietitians. Premium is for solo clinicians. Practices can apply for the Practice Pilot.
Do I need a credit card to start?
No. You can try a sample session without signing up, then create a free account without a credit card.
Does it connect to my EHR?
Not directly. Copy or export the reviewed note into your EHR or practice management system.
Start free, with the BAA in place
5 scribe sessions a month, no time limit, no credit card.
Related pages
- Best AI scribe for solo and small practices
- Medical SOAP note generator
- AI SOAP note generator
- All specialties
Compare MentalNote
A clinician must review every AI draft. MentalNote does not give medical advice or make diagnoses. Competitor details come from each vendor's public pages on the date shown and may have changed. Spotted something out of date? Email support@mentalnote.ai and we will fix it.