October offer: 50% off your first 3 months of Premium with code OCTOBER50 at checkout: USD $49.50/month, then USD $99/month. First-time customers only. Ends 31 October.Upgrade to Premium

Best AI Documentation Tools for Therapists (2026): 13 Compared on Price and BAA

Writing notes like these every week? Open a fictional note in the MentalNote editor, no sign-up needed.

Quick Answer

For a solo therapist, the cheapest way to start is a tool with a free plan you can keep: MentalNote (5 scribe sessions a month, then Premium at $99/mo; HIPAA-compliant, BAA on every plan) or Upheal's free tier. If you write notes in Microsoft Word, MentalNote offers a Word add-in that drafts from a typed summary. If you already pay for an EHR, its built-in scribe (SimplePractice Note Taker, TherapyFuel, Jane AI Scribe) avoids copy and paste. Among standalone paid tools listed here, AutoNotes starts at $19/mo for typed or dictated notes and Mentalyc at $19.99/mo with a note limit; Upheal AI Notes is $39/mo. Compare billing periods, capture modes and note limits for your caseload.

Last updated: 27 October 2026. Prices checked on each vendor's own page that day.

Table of Contents

AI documentation tools for therapists: price and BAA comparison (2026)

The table lists what each vendor states on its own website. It covers tools that draft therapy progress notes from a session recording, dictation or a typed summary. You review and sign every note yourself.

ToolList price (vendor page)Free plan or trialHow you capture a sessionWhere it worksBAA / HIPAA (as the vendor states it)
MentalNoteFree plan; Premium $99/mo or $990/yr5 web-app scribe sessions a month, no time limit, no card; Word add-in 2,000 AI-writing words a monthRecord in the browser (in person or a telehealth tab), or type a summary in WordBrowser app; Microsoft Word add-in; copy or export into any EHRHIPAA-compliant, BAA on every plan
Mentalyc$19.99 to $119.99/mo ($14.99 to $99.99 billed yearly)14-day Pro trial, 15 notesRecord, upload audio, dictate or typeWeb and mobile; one-click transfer to your EHRBAA listed on all plans
UphealFree; AI Notes $39/mo; EHR Pro $99/moFree tier (SOAP, DAP, intake)Text, dictation, upload; paid adds AI notes from live sessions (free telehealth calls have no AI notes)Browser, Mac and mobile apps, Chrome extension, own EHRSigns a BAA with each therapist
Blueprint$0.99 to $1.49 per session, or $69/seat/mo5 free sessions (alongside-EHR plan)Live session, dictation or typed summaryAlongside any EHR, its own EHR, mobile appBAA included at sign-up
SimplePractice Note Taker$35/mo add-on (shown at $17.50 on 27 Oct), plus a SimplePractice plan from $49/mo30-day free Note Taker trialTelehealth recording; in person via the mobile app; dictationInside SimplePractice onlyNo Note Taker-specific BAA statement found
TherapyFuel (TherapyNotes)Add-on to TherapyNotes; price not shown on the pages we could openNot statedTyped summary or ambient Scribe recordingInside TherapyNotes onlyNot stated on the pages we checked
Twofold$49/mo billed yearly; separate monthly offer: $19 for the first month7-day trial, no cardRecord, dictate, type or uploadAny browser, iOS and Android; copy into any EHRSigned BAA for every account
SupanoteStarter $29.99/mo, or $19.99/mo with yearly billing (40 notes)7 or 14-day trial (its pages differ)Record, dictate or uploadWeb (desktop or mobile browser)BAA included at sign-up
FreedStarter $39/mo; Premier $119/mo ($104 billed yearly)7-day trial, no cardRecords the visit; dictation on PremierDesktop, tablet, phone; EHR push on PremierBAA included in terms accepted at sign-up
Heidi HealthNo US price shown ("Talk to us")Free transcription with no usage cap; weekly Agents allowance; 14-day Clinician trialAmbient transcription, dictation, telehealth audioWeb app; desktop app for macOS and WindowsBAA available to every covered entity
Jane AI Scribe$15/mo per practitioner, on top of a Jane plan5 free notes a monthRecord in the chart, telehealth or uploadInside Jane onlyNot stated on its AI Scribe pages
AutoNotes$19 to $69/mo ($16 to $58 billed yearly)Free trial, no cardTyped or dictated; recording from Workspace upZoom and Google Meet captureBAA provided for app use; executed at sign-up or before PHI use
BerriesPro $79/moFirst 20 sessions free, then 10 a monthIn-person or virtual captureAny device; paste into any EHRBAA page linked; plan terms not stated

Prices are list prices in USD from each vendor's own page, checked on 27 October 2026. Vendors change prices and promotions often; confirm on the linked page before you buy. "Not stated" means we could not find it on the vendor's official pages.

How to choose in 4 questions

  1. Do you want to record sessions, or type a summary? Recording tools (ambient scribes) need client consent and a recording workflow. If you would rather not record, pick a tool that drafts from a typed or dictated summary: MentalNote, Mentalyc, Upheal, Blueprint, Twofold and AutoNotes all accept typed input.
  2. Where do your notes live? If you chart inside SimplePractice, TherapyNotes or Jane, their own add-on writes straight into the chart. If you use another EHR, or Word documents, a standalone tool plus copy and paste works with any system.
  3. Which formats do you need? SOAP and DAP are almost everywhere. BIRP, GIRP, PIRP, SIRP and PIE are not: Mentalyc includes them from Pro up, Upheal on paid plans, and MentalNote on every plan, including free.
  4. What will it cost for your caseload? Per-session pricing (Blueprint) suits a small caseload. Note caps (Mentalyc Mini and Basic, Supanote Starter, Freed Starter) matter if you see 25+ clients a week. Compare the yearly price, not the first-month promotion.

MentalNote

MentalNote drafts therapy and psychiatry notes in the browser or inside Microsoft Word.

  • Capture: record a session in the browser, including a telehealth call in a browser tab, with a consent confirmation before every recording. In Word, type a short summary instead; no recording needed.
  • Formats: SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP, PIRP, SIRP and PIE, plus a Medical SOAP format.
  • Price: free plan with 5 web-app scribe sessions a month, no time limit and no credit card; the Word add-in has its own free allowance of 2,000 AI-writing words a month. Premium is $99 a month or $990 a year.
  • Compliance: HIPAA-compliant, BAA on every plan.
  • Limits: no direct write-back into an EHR; you copy or export the reviewed draft.

Open a fictional note in the MentalNote editor, no sign-up needed, or see pricing.

The other 12 tools

Mentalyc

Four solo plans from $19.99 to $119.99 a month. Accepts recording, audio upload, dictation or a typed summary. BIRP, GIRP, SIRP, PIRP and PIE start at Pro; lower plans cap one-click EHR transfers at 20 a month. MentalNote vs Mentalyc.

Upheal

Free tier with SOAP, DAP and intake notes; AI Notes is $39 a month. It offers a Chrome extension and its own EHR ($99 a month for EHR Pro). MentalNote vs Upheal.

Blueprint

Priced per session ($0.99 to $1.49) or $69 per seat a month. Works alongside any EHR or as its own EHR, with a mobile app. MentalNote vs Blueprint.

SimplePractice Note Taker

An add-on listed at $35 a month (shown discounted when we checked), on top of a SimplePractice plan from $49 a month. Writes progress notes inside SimplePractice only. MentalNote vs SimplePractice.

TherapyFuel (TherapyNotes)

TherapyNotes' AI add-on drafts SOAP progress notes from a typed summary or its ambient Scribe, inside TherapyNotes only. MentalNote vs TherapyNotes.

Twofold

$49 a month billed yearly, with a 7-day trial. A separate monthly-billing offer shows $19 for the first month. Records, dictates or takes typed notes; SOAP, DAP, BIRP and GIRP. MentalNote vs Twofold.

Supanote

Starter includes 40 notes a month at $29.99 with monthly billing, or $19.99 a month with yearly billing. Eight formats including BIRP, GIRP, PIE and EMDR. MentalNote vs Supanote.

Freed

A general medical scribe with a mental health page. Starter is $39 a month. Premier ($119 a month) includes dictation and EHR push; the help FAQ also lists 5 lifetime EHR pushes for Starter and Core. Freed lists specialty templates and a template builder; confirm your required therapy format before choosing a plan. MentalNote vs Freed.

Heidi Health

Free transcription has no usage cap; the weekly allowance applies to Agents. Paid US prices are not shown. Its desktop app can dictate into any app on screen. MentalNote vs Heidi.

Jane AI Scribe

$15 a month per practitioner on top of a Jane plan, with 5 free notes a month. Inside Jane only.

AutoNotes

$19 to $69 a month. The entry plan is typed or dictated; recording starts at Workspace ($49).

Berries

Pro is $79 a month, after the first 20 sessions free. Captures in-person or virtual sessions and pastes into any EHR.

BAA and HIPAA: what to check

If your practice is a HIPAA-covered entity, an AI documentation vendor that creates, receives, maintains or transmits protected health information (PHI) on your behalf is generally a business associate. Put a HIPAA-compliant business associate agreement (BAA) in place before giving it PHI; this may be included in electronically accepted terms. Check three things: that the BAA covers the plan you are on (some vendors offer it only on certain tiers or to organizations), when it takes effect (through terms accepted at sign-up or a separate agreement), and what happens to recordings and transcripts after the note is drafted. "HIPAA compliant" on a website is not a substitute for a BAA. See also free AI scribes with a BAA.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the cheapest AI documentation tool for therapists?

Free plans cost nothing to start: MentalNote gives 5 web-app scribe sessions a month, and Upheal has a free tier with SOAP, DAP and intake notes. Among standalone paid plans listed here, AutoNotes starts at $19 a month for typed or dictated notes ($16 billed yearly), while Mentalyc starts at $19.99 a month for 40 notes ($14.99 billed yearly). Blueprint charges $0.99 to $1.49 per session. The lowest total cost depends on your caseload, capture method and billing period.

Which AI therapy note tools sign a BAA?

MentalNote (BAA on every plan), Mentalyc (all plans), Blueprint and Supanote (at sign-up), Twofold (every account), Upheal (each therapist) and Heidi (every covered entity) say on their own sites that they provide a BAA. Freed includes its BAA in the terms accepted at sign-up, covering individual clinicians and small practices. Always confirm the BAA covers your plan before using a tool with client data.

Which AI documentation tool works in Microsoft Word?

MentalNote has a Microsoft Word add-in that drafts a note from a typed summary, with a free allowance of 2,000 AI-writing words a month. Check the supported integrations of each vendor if a Word add-in is essential to your workflow.

Do I have to record sessions to use an AI note tool?

No. MentalNote, Mentalyc, Upheal, Blueprint, Twofold and AutoNotes can draft a note from a typed or dictated summary. If you do record, get client consent first and check how long the vendor keeps recordings and transcripts.

What is the best AI documentation tool for a private practice?

It depends on where you chart. If your EHR has a built-in scribe (SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Jane), that avoids copy and paste. If not, a standalone tool with a BAA and the formats you use (for example BIRP or PIE) works with any EHR. Try a free plan on a few fictional notes before you commit.

Are AI-generated therapy notes accurate?

AI drafts can contain errors or details that were not said. Review every draft against the session, edit it, and sign it yourself; the clinician remains responsible for the record.

Try Mental Note AI Free

Experience rapid, professional documentation in Word. Free plan: 5 web-app scribe sessions a month, plus 2,000 AI-writing words a month in the Word add-in. Premium: $99/month or $990/year. HIPAA-compliant, with a BAA included on every plan.

Try it free

Prefer Microsoft Word? Get the free Word add-in. Installs from Microsoft AppSource.

Related Resources

Master the documentation fundamentals. Learn SOAP notes, master treatment planning, or understand insurance documentation.

See clinical note examples in multiple formats to understand what good documentation looks like.

Compare tools side by side: MentalNote vs Upheal, MentalNote vs Mentalyc and MentalNote vs Freed.

Further Reading

  • APA Documentation Guidelines — Provides detailed standards for clinical documentation relevant to therapists using AI tools.
  • HHS HIPAA — Outlines privacy and security regulations critical for AI documentation tools handling patient data.
  • SAMHSA — Offers resources on behavioral health documentation best practices applicable to AI tools.

Try our free tools: see an example AI-drafted note, or browse the clinical documentation toolkit. No account needed.

Write Better Notes, Faster

AI clinical notes in your browser or in Microsoft Word. HIPAA-compliant, with a BAA included on every plan. Free plan: 5 web-app scribe sessions a month, no credit card.

Try it free

Prefer Microsoft Word? Get the free Word add-in. Installs from Microsoft AppSource.